Broad Face
30-32 Bridge StreetAbingdon
OX14 3HR
Opening times: Mon–Wed 12:00-23:00; Thu 11:00-23:00; Fri and Sat 11:00-01:00 next day; Sun 11:00-22:00
Regular beers:
Greene King Abbot, Hardys & Hansons Bitter, St Austell Tribute
See more about this pub on CAMRA's national web site
Deceptively large two-roomed pub near the river with a small outside seating area on Thames Street. The name is first recorded in 1734 but there was a pub here before that possibly under a different name. Described on a lease of 1840 as 'newly erected'. Nicely done out inside and bright and welcoming. The traditional stories behind the pub's unique name have been written on the outside wall but any connection with the Old Gaol opposite (built 1805-1810, now apartments) is unlikely and omits the most likely explanation; that it was previously called the Saracen's Head and the sign was over painted. Re-opened under new management 20 October and not doing food just yet.